Emergency Number - 911

Sheriff's Office - (406)843.5301

Toll Free Number - (800)763-4439

The Mission of the Madison County Sheriff's Office is to Serve and Protect Persons and Property in the County of Madison, State of Montana.

PO Box 276
Virginia City MT 59755
Fax - 843.5351



Roger Thompson Sheriff/Coroner
Phil Fortner Undersheriff


Craig Schroder Sergeant
Chris Tenny Sergeant
Scott Bauers Deputy Sheriff
Dan Birdsill Deputy Sheriff
Ryan Brown Deputy Sheriff
Wesley Heavrin Deputy Sheriff
Mike Tilstra Deputy Sheriff
Doug Young Deputy Sheriff
Big Sky Office - Voice Mail Only 406.995.4880
Shay - K9 Extraordinaire  


Lynda Holt Communications Coordinator
Janet Fortner TAC Officer / Communications Supervisor
Linda Hamrock Communication Supervisor
Sarina Holliday Communication Officer
Hanna Dietrich Communication Officer
Kordette Kuroski Communication Officer
Tommy Luksha Communication Officer
Jennifer Andren Communication Officer
Tiffany Brannon Communication Officer


Carmin Hill Detention Officer
Missy Wood Detention Officer
Larry Taylor Detention Officer

Administration/Civil Department

Kathy Barnes Administrative Assistant / Civil Clerk